Asking for Help: Final Lightning Round!

I’m not sure how many diehard readers of my blog there are out there, but for those of you who pay close attention, you might have noticed that I waited a little longer than advertised to pull together the final installment of my recent “asking for help” series.

If you missed these earlier articles, you’ll find them for review here and here.  And in terms of why this post took a little longer than planned to pull together, I was honestly dragging my feet, hoping a few more job hunters out there would see the light — and take advantage of my open offer to publish some of their networking questions out to my audience at large.  To my surprise and mild dismay, though, only six additional people stepped up to the plate this time around.

So without further ado, let me first share the questions that were submitted by these six enterprising folks — to see if any of you out there have some interesting tips or insights you could share!

Question #1:  What tips and tricks or great ideas does anyone have to carve out finding a new job when you are employed full time now in a highly visible position in the company?  Respond to Cathleen here

Question #2:  Does anyone have any suggestions for locating a hybrid type of position utilizing a combination of marketing, HR, and office management skills?  Respond to Michelle here

Question #3:  Should I go out of my way to get an email contact address for recruiters and thank them after the first phone screen?  Do recruiters put more stock in this type of follow-up communication than I did (which wasn’t much) when I was a hiring manager?  Is there any specific information that would be ideal to put into such thank-you notes — or information that one should omit?  Respond to Brian here

Question #4:  In a previous life, I was a volunteer advisor to entrepreneurs and small business owners, helping them write business plans and get ready to present to VC’s, etc., all facilitated through an organization that was essentially a non-profit incubator.  I really enjoyed that experience.  Is there anything similar here in the Seattle area?  Respond to Paul here

Question #5:  How did you get past the initial shock of getting the layoff/downsize information and get into a structured pattern of productivity on your job search?  Respond to Mae here

Question #6:  I am new to the Seattle area, have a background in public accounting performing financial statement audits, and would ideally like to find a job within a small technology start up.  However, as I am new to the area I do not have much insight for those kind of companies.  What is the best way to get connected with the technology startups in Seattle?  Respond to Jay here

On a wrap-up note, I greatly appreciate those of you out there who have taken the opportunity to share your ideas, opinions, and moral support with the folks who posted the previous questions — as well as the new batch of questions above.  Hopefully, you agree with me that “helping is its own reward” and that in many cases, the time and energy you invest in doing somebody a small favor will return back to you, many times over, down the road.

As for those of you who are in the market for a new job, and struggling with being open about your needs and soliciting input, help, and assistance from those around you, let me leave you with a great little example of this practice in action.  One of my clients, a young woman in her early twenties, recently informed me of her strong desire to become a flight attendant.  Among other strategies for making this happen, I suggested she post a note on the “Answers” page of the LinkedIn.com networking site, asking people for suggestions about how best to reach this goal.  She’d never heard of the LinkedIn Answers page.  Or LinkedIn, for that matter.  But when I explained to her that it was essentially “Facebook for old people” she seemed to get the hang of it — and then I walked her through the process of posting her question.

If you’ve got a second, click here to review the question she posted and the six answers her query received.

The first response?  Probably the snarkiest thing I’ve ever seen posted on the site.  Somebody with no credentials in the field, and nothing apparently better to do with her time, chose to write in and belittle my client for asking what she perceived to be a “silly” question.  The next couple of responses?  Not bad.  A few good tips and resources were passed along.  But if you scroll all the way down to the end, and read the last response that was received, that’s where the magic happened.  My client is now receiving direct advice on how to become a flight attendant from perhaps one of the 20 most qualified people in the world to offer it.  For free.  Just because she asked.  And because some people just…like…to…help.

 

One Response to “Asking for Help: Final Lightning Round!”

  1. As a diehard (but quiet until now) blog reader, I want to say thanks for posting the questions! It is fun helping others, and interesting. I hope the posters got what they were looking for. I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

